Tags

, , , , , ,

I am a write-by-inspiration writer. That means that I have a very hard time sticking to a regular writing schedule. I pretty much let the muse guide me and write when the inspiration hits me.*

That can be a good thing and a bad thing. A good thing, because since I am writing my thoughts out at the time of my peak creativity and inspiration, I tend to get a whole lot of words out in a short period of time. Since I am writing out of flow and energized focus, what I write can often initially turn out better than if I were forcing myself to write.

The bad thing about this system is that my writing is entirely dependent on the whims of the muse, and said muse can be extremely fickle and random. I never know when the urge to write will come on. Or even if it will come at all. It can be anywhere from an hour to a month in between spurts of inspiration. It’s actually rather annoying, especially when I am aspiring to become a sort-of full-time writer. I don’t think many writers have earned much bread that way. It’s not a very reliable way of life.

Tsk, tsk. Bad muse.

But anyway, I want to try to get on a more regular writing schedule, and force myself to write, even if those times won’t result in higher quality stuff. Because eventually, getting in the habit of writing daily or regularly will help me to be able to write quality stuff whenever I decide to write. I don’t want to be at the mercy of a whim all my life. Having this blog is a great way to improve in that area. I think I already have gotten somewhat better since I’ve started blogging, though I do still have lapses of writing laziness, like this past week (I’m going to try to do at least two posts this week to make up for it).

Here are a couple of great quotes about writing that really inspire me in this area:

 

Obviously, these guys succeeded with their own advice.

So, those of you who are writers, what kind of writing routine–or lack thereof–do you have? I’d love to hear from you! Even if you aren’t a writer, I’d love to hear your thoughts, too. If you are a spammer or a robot, no offense, but I’d rather not hear what you have to say.

Happy (belated) Easter/Resurrection Day, readers!

~~~

*For the record, I don’t really believe in an actual “Muse,” or an unseen power guiding a writer, like the Greek goddess or anything like that. I’m just referring to the general inspiration and stimulus that comes randomly upon a writer.

