Tags

, , , , , ,

Spending Time with God for Who He Is

Do you go to God only when you have a problem, or need something from Him? Are those the only times that you feel compelled to reach out to Him?

Or do you ever go to God just for Him?

I am guilty of that just as much as anyone. Most of my past life I thought of prayer as something you do when things are going really badly and you need help. When you or someone else is sick or needs money or wisdom for something, you go and pray and ask God for the solution.

For so long I pretty much only thought of God as a sort of 911 emergency service. When I need help, call on God. When I’m not sure where to go next, ask God. When I need strength or encouragement, go to God.

Only recently have I truly come to realize that my relationship with God is about so much more than that.

I’m not saying that it’s wrong to pray about those types of things, or to go to God when things get bad. God wants us to do that and He loves when we cast our cares on Him and ask Him for things. He’s a loving Father and He loves to give us good gifts.

But my point is, is that the only reason we ever go to Him or talk to Him–whenever we need something?

Do we ever go to Him for none other reason than we just want to be with Him? We want to experience His presence in our lives?

When you love someone, often you don’t need anything more than to just be with them. You don’t even have to talk to them or do anything with them. It’s enough to sit with them and just be with them. You love their presence.

Do we love the Lord’s presence?

You don’t have to wait till church on Sunday to be with God or worship Him or experience His presence. You can do that at any time, at any place. At home, at school, at work. During lunch break, in the middle of afternoon traffic, when you wake up in the middle of the night. He’s always with you, so that means that you can always intentionally spend time with Him, and He’s always there, ready and waiting for you to come to Him so He can pour love His love and peace and Himself into your heart.

Psalms 62 and 63 both have verses in them that speak to this seeking for God and longing for Him just for who He is.

Psalm 62:1-2; 5-7 ~

For God alone my soul waits in silence;
    from him comes my salvation.
He alone is my rock and my salvation,
    my fortress; I shall not be greatly shaken.

For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence,
    for my hope is from him.
He only is my rock and my salvation,
    my fortress; I shall not be shaken.
On God rests my salvation and my glory;
    my mighty rock, my refuge is God.

Psalm 63:1-8 ~

O God, you are my God; earnestly I seek you;
    my soul thirsts for you;
my flesh faints for you,
    as in a dry and weary land where there is no water.
So I have looked upon you in the sanctuary,
    beholding your power and glory.
Because your steadfast love is better than life,
    my lips will praise you.
So I will bless you as long as I live;
    in your name I will lift up my hands.

My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food,
    and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips,
when I remember you upon my bed,
    and meditate on you in the watches of the night;
for you have been my help,
    and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy.
My soul clings to you;
    your right hand upholds me.

I love these scripture passages! They really highlight David’s hunger and thirst for God and for God’s presence in his life, and the lengths David goes to to make God the most important part of his life. His relationship with God is more vital than any physical sustenance. God is the center of his existence.

And that’s how our lives should be, too. That’s what I want my life to be like, where I can’t live another second without God’s very breath flowing through my being. Where I literally live every day for my relationship with Him. That’s what truly abiding in Christ is–you are in Him, and He is in you, and your very existence is completely wrapped up in Him.

I read somewhere that Christianity is first a love relationship with God, and everything else that you do flows from that (roughly paraphrased). If we don’t first get to know our God and Creator as the Lover of our souls that He is, then the rest of our view of Him will be distorted and unbalanced. Coming to Him with the goal of first being with Him and knowing Him will not only increase our love for Him, but also increase our heart knowledge of His everlasting love for us, and that will change everything–how we live our lives, how we interact with others, what and whom we live for. It will transform our entire outlook on life.

~~

Thanks so much for stopping by! Let me know your thoughts in the comment section below!

If you haven’t already, check out my other recent posts, like When People Are Hard to Live With, and Lessons From Our Furry Friends.

If you’re new to me or my blog, feel free to visit my About page or my Intro post.

Photo Credit: Gabrielle Harrison

