Tags

, , , ,

I had planned to post this on Monday, but completely got sidetracked by the busyness of the new camp coming in, so here it is now.

~~~

Just a couple of thoughts from this past week. Things have been really busy with it being the first week of camp, but God is still doing a lot of great things and helping me grow me more and more.

Kids are so fun and hilarious. I love being around these kids that come to camp. They are so carefree and silly and entertaining and real. Yes, they are excessively silly and crazy at times, and they are like the absolute worst guessers of your age, but they are also so honest and open. There is nothing hazy or sketchy about them, for the most part. Once you start getting up into the teen years, then you start running into more complex and confusing characters. But don’t get me wrong, there were some older teen girl campers who, though they took a little more time and patience to get to know, ended up being just the sweetest, awesomest group of girls ever. Who also loved being “photographied” while they did a bunch of cute and silly poses.

You probably won’t ever feel completely ready for what you have to do, but you do it anyway. A big part of camp is doing stuff that is out of your comfort zone. I didn’t expect to have to do a lot of the stuff I’m doing this summer, and some of it definitely takes me out of my comfort zone. This is where I have to remember that this is where God has me for now, and where He has called me and what He has called me to do, He will give me the strength and ability to accomplish. I am not here because I am awesome–I am here because of what God will make me into during this time (phrase borrowed from one of our counselor training sessions).

I like this quote from John Wayne: “Courage is being scared to death, but saddling up anyway.”

We had at least two campers who professed salvation this week, plus other decisions, so that made everything worth it.

Thanks again for reading, and please let me know any thoughts you might have in the comments below!

