Tags

, , , , , ,

15094084083_ac0604dd3a_o

Photo Credit: Yours Truly

Happy fall, y’all!

This summer the theme for our teen camp was sowing and reaping, with our theme Bible passage being Galatians 6:7-10.

Do not be deceived: God is not mocked, for whatever one sows, that will he also reap. For the one who sows to his own flesh will from the flesh reap corruption, but the one who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life. And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up. So then, as we have opportunity, let us do good to everyone, and especially to those who are of the household of faith.

Here is a collection of musings and ponderings, plus the resulting conclusions, that I made over the summer related to this topic.

You reap what you sow. Everything that you do, whether good or bad, will come back to you in consequences or blessings. Even if you make a wrong choice that seems to be a small issue in your eyes, you can’t just assume that it will be forgotten and inconsequential, because every word, thought, or action you commit, no matter how small, will come back to you. Not only will it come back to you in full, but it will come back in over-abundance of what you may have sown. That is one of the laws of the harvest: you reap more than you sow.

What makes farming and planting so incredible and effective is that the output far exceeds the input. You plant one kernel of corn, and you don’t just get back one more kernel of corn–you get back hundreds. One field of corn will return enough corn to plant thousands more fields of corn. The same principle applies to our human lives. Every choice we make will produce a harvest much greater than the initial action.

Sometimes the results of your actions take time to show fruit. So if you are living a bad lifestyle up until a certain time, then you make a decision to turn around and do right, you may not see blessings and good things in your life right away. The consequences of your wrong choices still have to run their course, and you may be dealing with them for a while, even after you make the choice to follow God. But the good part is that the blessings will come eventually. You will always ultimately reap what you sow.

In their devotional times every day this summer, the teen campers would learn four laws of the harvest, a few of which I have referred to already.

Here they all are listed below:

The Four Laws of the Harvest

  1. You will reap what you sow
  2. You will reap more than you sow
  3. You will reap after you sow
  4. You will reap

The concept of reaping what you sow is one that I’ve heard all my life and before this summer I would probably have claimed that of course I understood it and allowed it to influence the way I live my life.

Now that the summer is over and I think back, I realize that while I may have understood and known what the concept of reaping and sowing meant, I really did not live my life as if I believed it nearly as much as I thought. Having the concept literally drilled into me as we passed from week to week of teen camp forced me to step back and take a deeper look at what reaping what you sow means to me personally and how it can affect my life in significant ways.

Hopefully as you consider the concept of sowing and reaping and the laws of the harvest, you’ll also understand, more than you did before, the importance of making wise choices to positively affect your future, and it will become a vital part of how you live your life.

