Tags

, , , , , , ,

As it is the end of October and, thus, we are deep into the glorious season of fall, I thought I’d create a post solely dedicated to declaring the best and loveliest qualities of this season. Autumn certainly hits high on my list of favorite seasons, if not the highest on the list, and there are so many little joys and happinesses about it that make it so.

Here are the top reasons on my list for why it is so awesome:

1. The colors.

The colors of fall are seriously unrivaled among the four seasons, in my opinion. True, spring has its soft greens and new blossoms of white, pink, purple, and yellow, which are beautiful in their own right; and yes, winter is a wonderland of silver, white, red, green, and gold; but in my mind, you just can’t surpass the breathtaking collages of deep red, rusty orange, crisp yellow, plum, and all the accents of brown, green, tan, and cream mixed in. Though I sadly don’t have a whole lot of amazing fall views in the area of California where I live, I still love finding them where I can and, along with pictures of autumn scenes all around the US and the world, they never fail to take my breath away.

2. Pumpkin spice, caramel, butterscotch, walnuts, apples, and cinnamon, among other amazing flavors of the season.

Every fall season I wonder why I don’t do more baking, because I simply can’t get enough of these flavors and goodies. And then I realize–oh yeah, maybe it’s because I like to eat them way more than I enjoy baking them. I’d rather just go somewhere and buy them. Pumpkin spice lattes and pumpkin cream cheese muffins from Starbucks, giant slices of apple pie with caramel/vanilla ice cream, pumpkin spice tea, maple walnut bars with caramel icing, ahhh…. Pretty much anything with any combination of the above ingredients is going to do it for me.

3. Being able to break out the cozy fall sweaters, plaid shirts, boots, and scarves.

I love fall/winter clothes. There’s something so exciting and enchanting about a cold weather wardrobe, and I’ve found that I’m always a lot more excited about finding and creating my outfits for fall than I am during any other season.

4. Cool, crisp, breezy days and chilly, curl-up-in-a-cozy-blanket evenings.

. . . With a good book.

5. A general decrease in overly-friendly house pests like spiders and crickets and stuff.

In general this seems to be the case in my residential area, though there are always those persistent exceptions who are determined to enjoy the warm house.

6. Long country walks in the beautiful, cool weather.

During which I can bring my camera to capture any  breathtaking scenery I might encounter.

7. Fun trips to places like the Dixon Corn Maze and Apple Hill.

These outings are the best with a group of awesome friends and family.

8. The sounds . . .

Like the sounds of rain pattering on the roof, the wind rustling through the leaves, the birds twittering in the trees, the crunch of dry leaves under your boots, and the lovely voices of insane politicians–wait, what??? I have no idea where that came from.

9. The beautiful green that sweeps over the hills and meadows after the first couple of good rains.

Here is California, we have to endure the great majority of the year with ugly brown, dead grass everywhere. It’s only during the few months of the year in which we actually get some rain, that we get to enjoy the beauty of green grass.

 

So there are some of my top reasons for why I love the autumn season. What is your favorite season and why?

 

