Tags

, , , , , , ,

dsc00636-12

A couple weeks ago I posted a list that I made of God’s promises and truths about various issues, which has sort of led to this follow-up post.

While writing out that post, I started thinking, “What if there’s someone out there who isn’t even sure if they can trust God and His promises about life? I mean, what if they are reading about this list of scripture promises and they don’t even bother to check it out because they don’t care about, believe in, or trust the Person behind those words?”

So if that sort of describes you, then these are my thoughts for you.

This is a look into my perspective on God, why I believe in Him and His control over my life despite the hardships, confusion, uncertainties, and disappointments I’ve encountered.

If you’re in the midst of a tough situation right now, you may have wondered where you can go to find the help and hope that you long for. You may have already “tried” God and it seemed to you that He just didn’t follow through and that He’s not worth a second chance.

I just want to urge you to take another look at what God says about life and what He says about you.

Many times I’ve felt discouraged, like God wasn’t listening and He wasn’t keeping His promises. But every time I’ve wanted to turn my back on Him, I remember the words of Jesus’ twelve disciples in John 6.

It was at a time in Jesus’ ministry on earth when many of His followers were leaving and walking away from Jesus. Maybe they lost faith in Him for some reason, maybe they got bored and went looking for the next big attraction or thrill. It was at a time when the things Jesus was teaching were harder to understand than they had been in the past, so perhaps many people lost interest because they started realizing that the way of Jesus was not all green meadows and roses.

For whatever reason, most of Jesus’ followers left until the only ones remaining were the original twelve disciples.

So Jesus turns to them and asks them, “Are you also going to leave?”

And this is what resonates in my heart: Simon Peter replies, “Lord, to whom would we go? You have the words that give eternal life. We believe, and we know you are the Holy One of God.” (John 6:66-69, NLT).

These twelve ordinary, imperfect men could have turned away from Jesus at any time and gone their own path. But they didn’t. Why? Because over the approximately three years that they had been with Jesus, their lives had been so touched and changed by Him, to the point that they couldn’t go back to what they were before, to their previous life.

Whatever happens in my life, whatever doubts and feelings crowd themselves into my heart and mind, no matter how strongly I want to throw in the towel and turn my back on God, I can’t.

Because I’ve experienced God; I’ve had a personal encounter with Jesus. And I can’t forget it or pretend it hasn’t happened. He has the words of eternal life. I know it in my heart. He hasn’t just touched me–He’s changed me. He has made a permanent engraving on my heart. And nowhere else I might try to go to fill the void in my heart will ever satisfy me completely.

I’ve tried going other places, to other people, to other things. But I’ve always had to come back to the Truth, to the One that I know speaks the truth.

I know that the road ahead is still rough, and I know that I will still go through times when I want to give up and forget about God. But I also know that I will always come back to Him in the end of every circumstance. You can never really forget the one who has the words of eternal life. You can’t ignore something so dramatic and transformative as the words of truth on your heart. Not permanently. Any touch of Jesus is more than just a transitory feeling. It’s a transformational touch.

So, I’m not going to ask you to “give God a chance.” I’m not going to suggest that you just give Him a chance with the option of leaving when it doesn’t seem to work.

Because the one with the truth will always come through for you. And if He’s the only one with the truth, where else will you go but to Him? Where else can you go?

I’m asking you to go to God with an open heart. Take a look at his promises and truths in the Bible. And if at first nothing seems to make sense, don’t throw Him out immediately. Challenge yourself to keep searching and studying until it does make sense.

Jesus tells us to “Keep on asking, and you will receive what you ask for. Keep on seeking, and you will find. Keep on knocking, and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks, receives. Everyone who seeks, finds. And to everyone who knocks, the door will be opened” (Matthew 7:7-8).

God is a good Father, and He gives good gifts to his children. He has the ultimate truth for you, for every situation you may be in. And if you come to Him sincerely, He will never cast you out (John 6:37).

Come to Him, and He will give you rest. (Matt. 11:28)

I suspect that nothing I can say will really satisfy all your questions or doubts, and I know that I haven’t covered every single area, but this is just a look into my philosophy on things that I hope will make you think about God differently than before and at least come to Him with an open mind.

You’re searching for truth, for something to live for, for the ultimate meaning in life. Everyone is, whether they realize it or not. Every human on earth needs something to fill the void. So look to God and ask Him for the answers.

I promise you–actually, HE promises you–that He will never let you down.

~~~

Thanks for reading! If you haven’t already, check out my About page, and I’d love it if you subscribed to my blog as well! That way you won’t miss any of my future posts, and you’ll completely make my day.

Thanks for stopping by!

